2016 End of Year Survey | I Accomplished Something!

I wanted to finish off the year by reflecting on the year. This will be a long post so hope you stick around! (Or skim. That’s cool, too.)

2016-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984-768x738

I didn’t have the best reading year, considering I didn’t read outside of school until the summer started and a lot of books I read were graphic novels. I did enjoy a lot of the books I got to, though, so time to see what my year was like! Do your own take of the Perpetual Page Turner’s survey.

reading-stats-2016-1024x278-768x209

Number Of Books You Read: 62.

Number of Re-Reads: This is shameful. 1. I only reread To Kill a Mockingbird because it was required reading my junior year.

Genre You Read The Most From: Surprisingly Fantasy with Contemporary Romance tailing behind.

best-ya-books-2014-900x244

Best Book You Read In 2016?

I’m gonna cheat and pick two books because the Wolf Road and My Sister Rosa were both really good.

Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

The Graces was supposed to be amazing and beautiful and everything you could want in a book about witches, yet here it is.

A Monster Calls has been on my radar since I loved the Chaos Walking Trilogy and when I saw the movie trailer I decided to pick it up. I liked it, but I didn’t really love it. I thought it was pretty average, but I’m still excited for the movie.

Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

For this, I’m going to pick one book that was surprising for both reasons.

I was disgusted with how offensive Everything Everything was to people with chronic illness. The story would have been a lot better without the main character’s “illness” because so much was wrong with how SCID was portrayed and Maddy’s disregard for her life and health.

After reading that I didn’t have high hopes for Every Last Word, which depicts OCD and anxiety. It’s clear that the author did research because the anxiety that Sam felt was very relatable and I grew to really care about the characters. I can’t say anything about the portrayal of OCD because I have yet to search reviews from people who have OCD,  but I’ll be doing a joint review for both books and will link back to anything I find.

Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

51niH6CC-pL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

I’ve tried to get my boyfriend, sister, and best friend to read this and so far only my best friend has. He loved it and now he and I can fangirl over it and wait for Noelle Stevenson’s next books. I won’t give up on my boyfriend, there’s still time.

 Best series you started? Best Sequel? Best Series Ender?

I’m shit at finishing series, but this year I finished a whole trilogy! *applause*

Okay, I didn’t finish this series but the Winner’s Trilogy was amazing. I can’t believe I waited this long to read it! I need to own all the books because I will definitely be rereading this series at some point.

I was anticipating to read the Winner’s Kiss but since I didn’t get to it, I have no book for Best Series Ender.

Favorite new author you discovered ?

amm.png

I don’t read much by Hispanic authors –which is a complete shame since I support the #OwnVoices movement and love reading books by Hispanic authors– but this year I got the chance to read both Anna-Marie McLemore’s existing novels and I adored them.

She writes compelling magical realism and the diversity in her characters is amazing. In just two books I think she’s done a wonderful portray of disability, trans characters, Hispanic, French, and Pakistani characters. I’ll be keeping an eye out for anything she releases in the future because two books is not enough.

Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

I never read graphic novels, but there was a period this year where I felt like only reading graphic novels and these were my favorite out of the ones that I read.

Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

d62056efd05ff725ca1b99204601911a

Read this. That’s all I’ll say.

Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

I may reread the first two books in the Winner’s Trilogy in preparation to finish the series.

Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

If there are stars and moons on the cover and there’s a beautiful shade of blue, I’ll probably like it. 

Most memorable character of 2016?

 Briony from Atonement. And not for good reasons. I wanted to punch her from the start of the book, oh my god.

Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

 I can’t think of anything actually. I guess I didn’t seek out particularly poetic books.

Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

 This Blinding Absence of Light by Tahar Ben Jelloun. This book is honestly so amazing and terrible for all the same reasons.

Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read?

 Dorothy Must Die because damn is everyone fucking evil. Except Dorothy. She’s still in diapers and will graduate from evil school hopefully in the second book.

Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read This Year?

If we’re being honest here I had to go back and search the quotes section of Goodreads for my favorite books. I missed the memo that book bloggers keep track of pretty quotes, I only remember what made me angry.

“Sometimes you think you want something,” Arin told him, “when in reality you need to let it go.”
― Marie Rutkoski, The Winner’s Crime

Shortest & Longest Book You Read?

The shortest book I read was Adulthood is a Myth by Sarah Anderson(soo cute) and the longest was Replica by Lauren Oliver.  EVENTUALLY I will post reviews.

Book That Shocked You The Most

Nothing really shocked me this year. If anything I was underwhelmed most often.

OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Arin and Kestrel from the Winner’s Trilogy can have all my heart. (Also, not book related at all but I ship everything in Star vs the Forces of Evil because MAH GOD. If these aren’t the cutest I don’t know what is.)

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_filename_6405a28c70c407afc96d516505352d37b3817463853_hqbe132d1c10331ae0cb849cc170197f4a

 

Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Elka and Penelope from the Wolf Road had such a strong friendship. I loved it.

Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

 28448287

Won by default as the only book I read this year by an author I already read from.

Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

 book3

Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

 I don’t get fictional crushes honestly.

Best 2016 debut you read?

Don’t really read debuts either. Wow…

Best World-building/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

 The world building in the Winner’s Trilogy was phenomenal.

Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry?

Everything Everything made me cry from how bad it was.

Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Paaaass.

Book That Crushed Your Soul?

6867

You can’t be doing this. I got a reputation as a robot to keep. I can’t be crying in class.

Most Unique Book You Read?

 Obvious answer but Replica by Lauren Oliver.

Book That Made You The Most Mad?

6867

ALL THE AWARDS FOR MAKING ME WANNA RIP IT APART AND THROW IT AGAINST A WALL. (It’s good tho, check it out. Just have something ready to punch 🙂 )

book-blogging-900x244

New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

I just started blogging this year so every blog is a new blog. Excuse the length of this list.

Paper Fury | For the Lover of Books | Arctic Books | Wonderless Reviews |
Thrice Read | She Latitude | The Cozy Reader |
Bookshelves and Paperbacks | Fangirl World | Sparkling Letters | Books Baking & Blogging | Loony Literate | Vivatramp | The Quiet People |

Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

 I really like my review for The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski. Probably because I loved the book.

Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

25 Bookish Facts about Me. This was fun to write and I really enjoyed sharing dumb facts about me because  wow I was a mess.

Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

None, sadly. Hopefully I can remedy this next year but as of now things were bland.

Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

When I got approved for my first book on Netgalley. Your first ARC is so exciting.

Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

My 18th Birthday book haul got the most views.

Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

8 Holiday Dessert Ideas for Vegans. I’m really trying to diversify my cooking and I kind of wish there were more vegans or people interested in vegan cooking to share recipes with.

Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Netgalley! I got to read some really cool books from here. A publisher also found me through Netgalley and got in touch so I got my first physical ARC that wasn’t from a giveaway!

Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I set a goal of 60 books for the year and I went over it even though I only read the second half of the year. Not my best but I’m satisfied.

 

looking-ahead-books-2015-900x244

One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

 410iujgkwgl

I love Jenna Moreci’s youtube channel and all the writing advice she gives out. Kind of nonsensical since I’ve given up on writing for years after I lost my notebooks with all my ideas and motivation. But anyway, I read the first three chapters on her website and ordered the book, but I never finished it, which really sucks. I will read it next year for sure because her second book is coming out and I want to be sure I enjoy her writing style before committing.

Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)? 

 23447923

Aristotle and Dante is everything and he’s coming out with another YA book? Yes, please!!

2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

 28147258

Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

 29939230

I have’t even started the series yet but I’m excited to marathon it in the next year!

One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

You can read all about my goals here!

A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone

I have not been fortunate enough to read any 2017 ARCS. (By this I mean, I had one and it’s still months away so I haven’t gotten to it. Oops.)


Comment below if we’re in the same boat for anything! And if you’re a Star vs. the Forces of Evil fan, feel free to cry with me because we have to wait for season 3.

11 thoughts on “2016 End of Year Survey | I Accomplished Something!

  1. I agree re: Everything, Everything! I was expecting to be blown away and while I loved the writing, that illness aspect of the story just kind of failed for me – I kind of feel like the twist was a cop-out and could’ve been better written. And I really need to pick up a book by Anne Marie McLemore already; everyone seems to love especially When the Moon was Ours and I’m rather intrigued by the summary.

    And I hope you like the Shades of Magic series when you get to binge it! I am SO crazy excited for ACOL and I honestly can’t recommend VE Schwab enough.

    Lastly, thank you so much for the mention! I’m super honoured and I’m glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed my blog. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really was. It would have been much better if it was just about the romance and family problems :/
      Please do!! Both books were great but When the Moon Was Ours was just soooo good (but maybe I also feel that way because on a research field trip I read that instead. Oops :$ )
      I’m hoping to read all (or most) VE Schwab books this year! I’m so excited for that series to be complete.
      Of course ❤ Your posts are so enjoyable to read, I check them out during lunch all the time 🙂 Plus your design is on point.

      Like

      1. When the Moon was Ours is definitely on my list! I suspect I’ll get to it in March/April though – I’ll be doing a bit of traveling next month so will be kinda too busy to pick up books I don’t yet have. 🙂

        I hope you enjoy VE Schwab’s works, she’s just amazing.

        And thank you again! That means a lot to me. ❤

        Like

  2. I think 62 is a lot considering you’re busy with school, I used to read wayyy less than that back when I was still in school 😛 I started reading My Sister Rosa a while back but got distracted and decided to put it on hold, I’m defs gonna go back to it 😛 sorry that Everything, Everything was problematic! I thought of picking up Nicola Yoon’s book but after hearing a lot of problems with this book, I opted for The Sun is Also A Star instead. ALSO YES TO THE WINNER’S TRILOGY! Those books are so beautiful inside out and I’m glad you loved it because it’s a hit or miss for most people 😛 Also thank you so much for mentioning my blog ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is. I read so little now in comparison to when I could read and read and never get tired of it.
      I would LOVE to see your review. The characters are so lovable, except Rosa of course.
      Lucky you opted out of that train wreck. I’ll have to check out your review to see how The Sun Is Also a Star. I’m interested in it but after the way Everything, Everything went…
      Anytime 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes you’d love it! A slow burner but so real and the characters are just 😍 Sooo good. Nimona is wonderful! I won’t stop until all my friends have read it. Thank you! I couldn’t not mention your blog lol It’s hard to ignore excellence 😋❤

      Like

  3. A friend of mine LOVES Atonement! I’ve never read the book or watched the movie but it seems like you had some pretty mixed feels about the book. The Winner’s Kiss was such a great ending to the trilogy! A whole three books watching Arin and Kestrel run around each other had me at my wit’s end seriously! We finally have peace!
    Awww, thank you so much for mentioning my blog! I’m off to explore yours now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When you get to it you’ll understand 😭 I read it for school and there were so many days where we had 40 angry students in English. Our teacher even joked she’d know if we read the whole book or not by the amount of books thrown against a wall. I’m really glad to hear that! Even after loving the first two books I’m so scared the last one won’t live up to its predecessors. It’s no problem ❤ Your blog is amazing 😍

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

